your 4wding camera or phone

Forum > General Discussion

()
22 Jun 2017

Since photography is part of 4wding ,thought we start a discussion on what cameras/phones you use, cause there is some great photos in the trip reports. myself i use a pentax k5 dslr,with sigma dc 17-70mm 2.8-4.5,the body is dustproof, but the lens isnt lol. i like the 17-70 because it gives a good zoom range for are type of photos, the 2.8 is great for taking photos of the stars and for close up shots. i shoot in jpeg and use photos straight from camera.                                                                                                                                                                                                              Also any tips are welcome,  i certainly need them .lol

Ray
Ray (Ray)
22 Jun 2017

I've been using Olympus DSLRs (since 2004 and the first camera, an E-1 still works) and now mirrorless cameras (E-M1 MkI). As in this trip: https://australianimage.com.au/the-high-country-mar-2016/, the camera was out in the rain for hours and wasn't bothered in the least (I was, as I was saturated, even with the drizabone). That's not the first or last time either and I've been similalry in rain doing documentary work. Nor does dust, mud, salt spray etc affect things, I just wash the camera and lenses under a tap afterwards as needed. That's what got me into Olympus cameras in the first place and I've stayed with them ever since. 

()
22 Jun 2017

Great photos ,slip sliding on them wet climbs, not a nice feeling when the 4wd slides where you dont want to go. awesome camera the em 1, quality images ,nice and light and compact,beats carrying a full frame dslr around.

Ray
Ray (Ray)
22 Jun 2017

Thanks.