Are winches required in every trip

Forum > Your Trip Report & Experience
Paul Raike
Paul Raike (Block)
08 Jun 2017

Hi,

not sure if i have posted under the correct forum topic?

i am new to 4WD Trips and have noticed every trip I have seen posted requires that vehicles always seem to be request to have winches fitted to vehicles.

I have been in a 4WD club for the last three years and have down numerous trips in a variety of conditions inching mud and snow. I have not had a winch in that time and fortunately have only been recovered three times, that I can remember. Snatched twice and winched  out once. I have every intention of getting a winch when the budget allows and fully appreciate having a winch fitted as insurance. I was just wondering if capable vehicles and experience could be taken into consideration for trips rather than being discouraged by seeing "Winch required" in the trips being posted.

look forward to hearing your thoughts 

Winston
Winston (Winston_FJ)
09 Jun 2017

No, they are not required on all trips. Anything Medium-Hard or Hard it is mandatory, anything less than that it is discretionary by the trip leader.

I'd be suggesting that any trip that is rated as Easy or Easy-Medium really should not have a requirement of having a winch. Recommended is fine but mandatory is a bit over the top and trip leaders might need to have a bit of a think before restricting who can join the trip. The only reason I could think of a winch being an absolute necessity on easier trips is if in the route there are some very narrow and windy tracks that have been planned where there is no possible way of snatching a vehicle through.

Kelvin
Kelvin (TREXGQ)
09 Jun 2017

Hi Paul