Maintaining throttle control

Forum > General Discussion
1 2   Next
Ricky
Ricky (R1XSTA)
09 Sep 2015

Hi all.

I am new to 4wd'ing and don't have a lot of experience behind me. My nissan patrol is a manual, and I am having some difficulty with maintaining proper throttle control while going up/down a track where necessary and my car can be quite jolty when the throttle is constantly changing to open/close throttle

A friend of mine told me to put a sponge under my accelerator as it will require force to push it down and maintain that position, while also won't be easily moved while getting thrown around in/on ruts/rocks. 

What tips do you use to maintain throttle control?

Kelvin
Kelvin (TREXGQ)
09 Sep 2015

Hi Rick,

I would not recommend to use sponge (or anything that can move between pedals and the firewall). Honestly I don't think it's safe. It may help a bit for your control on throttle but that object (sponge) may accidentally move behind the brake and clutch pedals. You may not lose control but ....there are risk. 

Try to adjust your seat position (angle and distance), it will help. It takes some time to get used or find the best position. 

You may consider to the increase the idling speed to say 1000 rpm (make sure you turn it down when coming down hill) if you know you are going to "crawl" up a track. 

The speed you are tackling the obstacle will also affect the throttle (Faster = Less control). 

It will take you months or years to get the best techniqe but you will know how your car behave on certain terrain and tracks. 

Hope this helps. 

Kelvin

Jim
Jim (JimMc)
09 Sep 2015

The easy as way I know how to fix it is to put a stronger spring on the accelerartor. 

Vince (Vince)
09 Sep 2015

Hi I normally press the side of my 

boot on the side wall to provide resistance

Dave
Dave (disco)
09 Sep 2015

Gday Jim,