Vic High Country explore Starting May 19th.

Forum > Trip Ideas (Expression of Interest)
Mark
Mark (Tennismark)
08 May 2018

I am planning a High Country trip around the 19th May for a week, at this stage. I have 5 or 6 days up my sleeve to travel as much or as little as I see fit  no real rush but don’t want to waste time either  

Probably looking to start around Omeo and want to camp up at Mt Pinabar for a night and then find tracks to wherever. 

If anyone wants to jump along, lead a day or two, join for a day or two or more, happy for you to jump aboard. Safety in numbers  

Im by no means an expert or ever lead a trip, so this will be a very casual experience . 

Plans are vague at moment ,see what tracks to do, see what huts to visit, see what views to see.

But if anyone wants to come during the weekend or week, the more the merrier...

let me know your thoughts  

cheers ....

Ray
Ray (Ray)
08 May 2018

You won't be camping at Mt Pinnibar in any shape or form. It's a wayside stop as a lookout and then you move on. 

You have a number of options if you go that way, such as on the Murray, the Davies Plains, or west around Wheelers Creek or Gibsons Hut, but not on Mt Pinnibar.

This trip of ours earlier this year covers most of the area: https://australianimage.com.au/the-high-country-feb-2018/ and an even earlier one: https://australianimage.com.au/the-high-country-nov-2017/

Mark
Mark (Tennismark)
08 May 2018

Ray (Ray) wrote:

You won't be camping at Mt Pinnibar in any shape or form. It's a wayside stop as a lookout and then you move on. 

You have a number of options if you go that way, such as on the Murray, the Davies Plains, or west around ......

Thanks for the info Ray. I have had one night camped up there amongst the trees. Was only 2 cars so stretcher bed and swag made for a close camp. Being solo, I’ll only need a small patch, but if not, happy to move on...

want to join? Who needs work? Couple days off, paradise...

Ray
Ray (Ray)
08 May 2018